Ministry of the
Solicitor General

Emergency Management Exemplary Service Award


The Office of the Fire Marshal and Emergency Management is pleased to announce the call for nominations of the 2019 Emergency Management Exemplary Service Award.

This award recognizes exceptional service by individuals or groups and their achievement in emergency management. It is a partnership between provincial, territorial and federal governments, and recognizes recipients who have achieved excellence in their respective fields.

OFMEM is accepting nominations for three categories until August 30, 2019. Learn about the eligibility of each category:

Search and Rescue nominations can be made to Public Safety Canada.

Nomination and Selection Process

A call for nominations is now open. All nominations for the categories must be submitted, using the nomination forms.

Nominations must be submitted by August 30, 2019 to:


  • Nominations must apply to initiatives and achievements undertaken from January 2016 to December 2018, with the exception of the Outstanding Contribution to Emergency Management category
  • Nominations must be for achievements that have primarily taken place in Ontario

Resubmitting previous nominations for unselected initiatives and achievements undertaken in the past two calendar years, is permitted.

Selection Process

A General Selection Committee conducts a national review of recipients in all award categories. This committee is reflective of the whole-of-society approach to emergency management, and will help to ensure that Canadians from across the country, who serve in a variety of roles, both paid and volunteer, are considered equally for these awards. Learn more about the selection process.